Planting

Today I spent 3 hours  in the windiest conditions I have ever experienced on Pen Trumau! With help and guidance from Graham Cowden, one of the ecologists from the Brecon Beacons National Park and the person who first showed me this extraordinary site, we planted 600 tiny cotton grass plugs in a staggered row along the edge of the uppermost woollen line.

It was amazing! the methodical nature of planting these tiny plants meant that I had the chance to scrutinize the line in a way I have not done before. As a result I saw tiny seedlings beginning to establish themselves as well as the algae and moss that I have seen on previous visits. The experience is difficult to describe. I could hardly keep my balance in the wind and yet at ground level these tiny signs of life were attempting to take a hold on the peat. The felted wool has remained in place despite the wind and water it appears to be offering an area of refuge in this extreme environment. It is impossible not to feel a sense of awe in the face of such a tenacious bid for life.

About caerhendre

Artist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

